Adam Tomczak
Adam Tomczak
Postdoctoral Researcher
UC  Davis  Cosmology  Seminar  Series
Winter Quarter, 2018

The Lowest-Mass Galaxies In the Early Universe: Insights from the Local Group

Thursday January 18
Dan Wiesz
University of California, Berkeley

Probing the z>3 universe *without* JWST

Thursday January 25
Iary Davidzon

Mapping the z~2 Cosmic Web with IGM Tomography with Keck and TMT

Thursday February 1
Khee-Gan Lee
University of California, Berkeley

Dwarf galaxy formation and the nature of dark matter

Thursday February 8
Anna Nierenberg
University of California, Irvine

Galaxy Metallicity Measurements at High Redshift: Probing Galaxy Growth over the past 12 Billion Years

Thursday February 9
Ryan Sanders
University of California, Los Angeles

Redistributing Stellar Mass: How Environment Influences the Galaxy SMF

Thursday February 15
Adam Tomczak
University of California, Davis

The MARVELous Dwarfs meet the Justice League: Constraints on dwarf galaxies using a heroically large simulated sample

Thursday February 22
Ferah Munshi
Vanderbilt University

Are Type Ia Supernovae in Restframe H-band Brighter in More Massive Galaxies?

Thursday March 1
Kara Ponder
University of California, Berkeley

The MOSFIRE Deep Evolution Field (MOSDEF) Survey: A Detailed Census of the Physics of Galaxy Formation in the Early Universe

Thursday March 8
Alice Shapley
University of California, Los Angeles

The Milky Way - evidence for Seyfert activity in the recent past

Thursday March 9
Joss Bland-Hawthorn
University of Sydney

Observational Signatures of Type Ia Supernova Progenitors and Photometric Redshifts with the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope

Thursday March 15
Melissa Graham
University of Washington


Thursday March 21
Griffin Hosseinzadeh
Las Cumbres Observatory

Fall Quarter, 2017

New Insights about the Assembly of Massive Galaxies from Hyper Suprime-Cam

Thursday October 5
Song Huang
University of California, Santa Cruz

Simulating galaxies at the epoch of reionization

Friday October 6
Xiangcheng Ma

ALMA Observations of High Redshift Galaxy Evolution and Arp 220

Thursday October 12
Nick Scoville

Galaxy Death and the Role of "Red Geysers"

Thursday October 19
Kevin Bundy
University of California, Santa Cruz

Measuring Neutrino Masses Using Large Scale Structure

Thursday October 26
Arka Banerjee
Stanford University

Cosmology Results from the Dark Energy Survey Year 1

Thursday November 2
Elisabeth Krause
Stanford University

Investigating Quasar Outflows in Absorption and Emission

Thursday November 9
Serena Perrotta
University of California, Riverside

Reconstructing the Formation Histories of Massive Galaxies

Thursday November 16
Mariska Kriek
University of California, Berkeley

Disk Assembly From z~2 to Now

Thursday November 30
Raymond Simons
Johns Hopkins University

Why Shear Measurement is Hard, and What to do About it

Thursday December 7
Eric Huff

Spring Quarter, 2017

The Dark Energy Survey: Status and Results

Thursday April 13
Tesla Jeltema
University of California, Santa Cruz

Democratizing Redshifts from Galaxy Clustering

Thursday April 20
Chris Morrison
University of Washington

Small-scale Intensity Mapping: Extended Halos as a Probe of the Faintest Galaxies and Reionization Physics

Thursday April 27
Lluis Mas-Ribas
University of Oslo

Kinematics of COSMOS Star-forming Galaxies over the last Eight Billion Years

Thursday May 4
Debora Pelliccia
University of California, Davis

The Self-Interacting Dark Matter Paradigm: Motivations and Tests

Thursday May 18
Manoj Kaplinghat
University of California, Irvine

Constraining the Physics of Satellite Quenching

Thursday May 25
Michael Cooper
University of California, Irvine

Structures and Masses of Distant Star-Forming Galaxies

Thursday June 1
Sedona Price
University of California, Berkeley

The Stellar Halos of Galaxies

Thursday June 8
Raja GuhaThakurta
University of California, Santa Cruz

Winter Quarter, 2017

Free-floating Evaporating Gaseous Globules (frEGGS)

Thursday January 19
Raghvendra Sahai

H0LiCOW: H0 Lenses in COSMOGRAIL's Wellspring

Thursday January 26
Edi Rusu
University of California, Davis

The BlackGEM synoptic survey project

Thursday February 2
Paul Groot
Radbound University

Dwarf Galaxy Formation in a Universe with Self-Interacting Dark-Matter

Thursday February 23
Peter Creasey
University of California, Riverside

The redshift evolution of strong emission line ratios reflects a link between N/O ratio and galaxy stellar mass

Thursday February 16
Dan Masters

An Early Universe Cosmologist Explores the Implications of Variable Stars for the Current Rate of Cosmic Expansion

Thursday February 23
Brent Follin
University of California, Davis

Ten Billion Years of Galaxy Alignments in Clusters

Thursday March 2
Michael West
Lowell Observatory

The Intergalactic Medium Near Reionization

Thursday March 9
George Becker
University of California, Riverside

Gas Flows: from Black Holes to Galaxies

Thursday March 16
Vivan U
University of California, Riverside/Irvine

Constraining Cosmic Reionization with Hubble, James Webb, and WFIRST

Thursday March 23
Brant Robertson
University of California, Santa Cruz

Fall Quarter, 2016

The Role of Dwarf Galaxies in Cosmic Reionization

Friday October 7
Aparna Venkatesan
University of San Fransisco

Hidden Sector Hydrogen as Dark Matter: Predictions for Small-scale Structure

Thursday October 13
Anna Kwa
University of California, Irvine

Reverberation mapping as a probe of black hole masses and AGN structure: new results from intensive monitoring campaigns

Thursday October 20
Aaron Barth
University of California, Irvine

A First Characterization of the Surprising Properties of Tidal Disruption Events

Thursday October 27
Iair Arcavi
University of California, Santa Barbara

The Hubble Constant from Time Delays of Gravitationally Lensed Images

Thursday November 3
Curtis McCully
Las Cumbres Observatory

The Zwicky Transient Facility

Thursday November 10
Eric Bellm

Insights into Galaxy Assembly from Star Formation in Luminous Quasars at z>1

Thursday November 17
Duncan Farrah
Virginia Tech